New Mexico elects first all-women of color house delegation

This story was originally published by The 19th.

New Mexico made history by electing its first United States House delegation made up of all women of color, the result of three races with women present in the two main parties.

Democrat Deb Haaland, one of the first Native American women in Congress, was elected for a second term against in the 1st Congressional District; Republican Yvette Herrell, a member of the Cherokee Nation, defeated the incumbent in a closely watched race in the 2nd; and Democrat Teresa Leger Fernandez was elected to represent the 3rd District, the first woman to hold the seat since its inception in 1983.

In 1990, Hawaii became the first state to send an all-woman House of Color delegation to Congress when Representatives Patricia Saiki and Patsy Mink were elected. New Hampshire became the first state to have an all-female congressional delegation in 2013, when the senses. Jeanne Shaheen, Kelly Ayotte and Representatives Ann McLane Kuster and Carol Shea-Porter were elected.

#Mexico #elects #allwomen #color #house #delegation

BREAKDOWN! Roger Stone: Trump will win 270

Trump supporters question record turnout in Wisconsin – Dateway