Walt Disney Co., Film Association, To Stop Posts – Dateway

The Walt Disney Co. and Motion Picture Association join Comcast and AT&T in halting political contributions to House and Senate legislators who voted to reject certification of votes for Joe Biden.

A Disney spokesperson said: “The uprising in our nation’s Capitol was a direct attack on one of our country’s most revered tenets: peaceful transfer of power. Immediately after this appalling siege, members of Congress had the opportunity to unite – an opportunity that unfortunately some did not want to take. In light of these events, we have decided not to make political contributions in 2021 to legislators who have voted to refuse certification of the electoral college’s votes. “

Mike Pence says he won’t be invoking the 25th amendment to remove Donald Trump

Patrick Kilcur, executive vice president of US government affairs for the MPA, said in a statement, “The Motion Picture Association is shocked and saddened by the terrible events at the US Capitol last week. For this reason, we have decided to suspend for the foreseeable future all contributions to members of Congress who have voted to challenge the certification of the electoral college’s votes.

“In addition, many MPA and member company employees, including myself, have spent many years of our careers as convention officials at the Capitol. Our thoughts and prayers remain with our friends and colleagues who bravely weathered last week’s attack – and serve our country even in these challenging times. “

AT&T, parent company of WarnerMedia, and Comcast, parent company of NBCUniversal, announced Monday that they would be suspending posts and joining a number of other companies, including Marriott, Blue Cross Blue Shield and American Express.

The Motion Picture Association member companies are Walt Disney Studios, Paramount Pictures, Sony Pictures, Universal Studios, Warner Bros. Entertainment, and Netflix Studios.

Eight Republican senators and 139 members of the House of Representatives voted against confirming Biden’s victory, even after the unrest in the Capitol.

Corporate PACs can give a maximum of $ 2,800 to each candidate per election and $ 5,000 to a party committee. Senators who voted against certification include Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Senator Rick Scott (R-FL), Senator Roger Marshall (R-KS), Senator John Kennedy (R-LA), and Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Senator Josh Hawley (R-MO), Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) and Senator Cynthia Lummis (R-WY).

December 10, 2020 Regular and Executive Session Meeting

Glenn Beck compares Twitter bans to Holocaust, says ‘it’s the digital ghetto’